Skip to content

NWNEE HD Art Pack 1.00 shadows and load times.

I realize it's vacation time, so no hurry. This is just for the record.

Most of the torso (and some other) models do not cast shadows.
Hoping an updated version can be made, but again not in a hurry.

I have a computer that fits the description of High-end. NWN:EE freezes for about 200 to 500 milliseconds when it tries to load an HD model from the pack onto the screen. The game has always run like this, just think of chapter 2 when you open the door in Kendrack's Barracks. If freezes while it loads all the models without the HD pack. With the pack, it does that all over the place.

Not being a game developer, I can't say if this is even realistic, but this sounds like something that could be fixed with tessellation. I'm only suggesting this because I know that the game engine was made before tessellation was introduced.

Comments

• ForSeriousForSerious Member Posts: 446
    First off: That's not official. I'm sure some time in January we will hear if there are plans to update the official pack.

Second off: It doesn't seem to have any effect on shadows. I would promote it if I saw any improvement, but for now, there's little value in downloading that pack from the vault.
  • zsouza13zsouza13 Member Posts: 3
    edited January 2022
    Has there been any word on a fix for the shadows?
  • GeneraldraxeoGeneraldraxeo Member Posts: 2
    Incredible! The models and textures are really good! I'm noticing a glitch with the Robes of Fire Resistance where the head and hands are off-skewed somehow, but otherwise no other glitches!

I would love to see an HD re-texture of familiars and animals next if possible, would be cool to see my Wizard's pixie not be so blocky.
  • WinterniteWinternite Member Posts: 11
    edited January 2022
    ForSerious wrote: »
    First off: That's not official. I'm sure some time in January we will hear if there are plans to update the official pack.