Skip to content

Biggest "Exploits" You've Found. Are they cheats or are they cheap?

HaHaCharadeHaHaCharade Member Posts: 1,643
So, like many of you, I've been playing BG for many years. There's some seriously cheesy stuff you can do to abuse a game. Is it cheating? Is it cheap? Wouldn't it just be easier to use EE Keeper, or does doing something solely in the game with Pauses. Reloads, etc., help you sleep at night?

Well.. who are we as mere mortals to judge as such? Anyway... Here's a couple I have. Wondering what else folks have come up with? Who knows, some of these may be so lousy if there is a future patch someday, there might be a desire to fix them.

Before anyone says WHY BOTHER. This is just a fun post, so let the cheese flow.

Baldur's Gate 1

- "Keep Your Rep Up Exploit" - Want to kill an innocent NPC or two, but don't want to take a rep hit? There's a couple solutions here. One is kind of clever, one is downright cheap.

1) "Charm and Killed by Hostiles". The easiest way if you're in an open area. Using one of the Charm Cloaks (or a Charm spell, but must be done BEFORE the spell wears off or they go red) lead the charmed NPC around the map until you catch the attention of some hostile creatures. Let them target the charmed NPC. Don't let the NPC fight the hostiles at all (you control them after all - just walk them back and forth). Let them die. Loot them. No Rep loss.