Skip to content

Can we take a character from the original BG2+TOB and import into BG1:EE?

Just curious as I barely started a character before hearing about this (best. week. ever!), I can Skyrim and Max Payne 3 and Diablo 3 it-up to distract myself I suppose. But as a technical curiosity I'm wondering if I could take a freshly made BG 2 character and import him into the enhanced edition. Even though that'd make him level 7 (probably 9ish by the time I get EE which is probably right on release day :D) so I don't know if that would ruin the game experience or not :P

That aside, is is technically possible, if so, could I get a general explanation as to why not? Again, more of a technical curiosity, I'm not a programmer but I'm a geek and I'm so into the idea of the enhanced edition I'd wonder what would make it so the original bg1 or bg2 couldn't have a character imported over.

Thanks so much, and sorry if this got posted before. :)

Comments

• DuronDuron Member Posts: 134
    edited November 2012
    As simple answer no, as BG2 ain't BG. You couldn't transfer a BG2 character into original BG let alone BG:EE. I don't know can you import the one from original BG 1 into EE but with 100% certanty I can tell you that you can't import from original BG 2 to BG1:EE.

As for programing issue, from my memory, there was a blockade because some classes (aka all those that weren't in BG 1 and are in BG 2) and spells (same thing) couldn't work properly or be able to work in BG1. So they just blocked the pathways.

Not to mention it would give FAR unfair advantage to play a lvl 8+ character in a game designed to go from level 1 to 8 with a level 8 cap.
  • bigdogchrisbigdogchris Member Posts: 1,336
    There is no importing of characters or save games into BG:EE. Too much has changed. You will be able to import from BG:EE into BG2:EE.