Skip to content

Companions do nothing??

Hey, Im not sure if this is what the original Baldurs Gate did but do you have to micromanage every bit of your companions in the game? Because even when Party AI is enabled, the companions dont follow me, or they dont attack enemies that attack me until I am very close to them. WTF is that about? Is that a glitch? Or are you suppose to micromanage your party members? Even for just following you? Moving? Attacking enemies with spells and abilities? Yes I am new to Baldurs Gate, and the whole D&D concept so go easy on me. Are you suppose to micromanage your companions this heavily?

Comments

• etaglocetagloc Member Posts: 349
    did you add a script`?
  • lotrofan15lotrofan15 Member Posts: 11
    What is that? Can that make me stop micromanaging these guys, because I have played KOTOR, Dragon Age, and Mass Effect, the companions in those games do the basic job of following you and casting spells(or shooting) when enemies are in sight. The last thing I should worry about is my companions not automatically following me and not attacking with their spells that I assigned them...if they even attack at all.....
  • BelgarathMTHBelgarathMTH Member Posts: 5,653
    You can right-click on each of their portraits separately, and then go to "customize", and "scripts". They have a "default", which basically doesn't do anything. Change it to "ranged", or whatever else you want.

One caution: No matter what script you select, you will never get them to do very well based on AI alone. The short answer to your question, is, yes, you have to micromanage them if you want to succeed in the game.
    So I cant make them follow me automatically? Or use assigned spells by themselves?
  • Stargazer5781Stargazer5781 Member Posts: 183