Skip to content

Where should I invest my EXTRA attribute points?

I'm somewhat new to D&D games in general, but I just created a character in BG1 without any of the mods.

I created a multi-class Ranger/Cleric and rolled for a few minutes. After I got a 97, I looked at a few guides and forums for the class and discovered that this class has an overpowering bug and that I was lucky to get such a great roll.

If I like the game enough, I might continue through the expansion and BG2 with this character. Otherwise, I may create different classes to enjoy the games with a little more variety.

Anyway, none of the guides really say what secondary attributes would be important if the main ones were maxed with a lot of extras left over. I know to max DEX, WIS, & CON, but after that I still have 43 points to spend. I had to read up on what the / meant for STR and I get it, but what I don't understand is if I do not max STR before the start of the game, does the extra /XX come into play later when my STR is pushed to 18 with an item? Or do I need to max STR at the character creation in order to take advantage of the /XX?

I ask because with the 97 points I rolled I can have 18/83 STR.

With all this in mind, how should I allocate my extra points between STR, INT, & CHA ?
If I were to decide now (from what I've learned today) I would do

STR 18/83
DEX 18
CON 18
INT 10
WIS 18
CHA 15

but then I wonder if I should be maxing CHA with this many pts.
Please respond ASAP I have the game open now and I'm dying to start playing!

Comments

• TJ_HookerTJ_Hooker Member Posts: 2,438