Skip to content

Can't keep Kagain from quitting =(

This is my first time with Kagain in the party, and I'm pretty reliant on him as a tank. As I understand it, his "quest" doesn't really exist, as he gives up on it once you enter the zone that it takes place in. I did that almost immediately, and got the dialogue where he gives up on finding the caravan and tells me to do whatever I want.

A few game-days later, he started complaining that we weren't helping him find his caravan. I ignored this, since we already had. However, now, if I sleep or move areas, he immediately quits the party.

I really don't want to lose Kagain. I'm not well-versed in manipulating the game. Is there a workaround I might use with the console or Shadowkeeper? I appreciate any help.

Comments

• alannahsmithalannahsmith Member Posts: 143
    I have had to force talk to a lot of my NPCs to progress through their quests. I would try that maybe. Sorry can't be more help :(
  • sandmanCCLsandmanCCL Member Posts: 1,389
    Bizarre. Sounds like a bug. I'd report it in the bug forum. He's not supposed to quit after you find the caravan.
  • lDanielHolmlDanielHolm Member Posts: 225
    Did you try going back to the zone just north of Beregost, where he usually ends his quest? I realize you said he already ended it, but it might make a difference.
  • LuthoreLuthore Member Posts: 43
    You can probably set a variable in the console that will get him to think his quest is complete and thus get him to stay. I just don't know what it is. Some global variable of some sort.
  • MadhaxMadhax Member Posts: 1,416
    edited December 2012
    Yeah, I've been relying on quicksaves and autosaves for a bit... I could go to a previous save to try to re-end his quest, but I'd lose about eight game-days of progress, so I'd rather avoid that. If anyone can figure out the global variable I'd have to change, it would be much appreciated.