Skip to content

Hi, I'm new to Baldur's Gate

I grew up with the NES at my friends and then I owned the SNES, PS1,2 etc etc. I've played a ton of games. I might have seen a demo or something of BG back in 98. I do remember having seen it at one point but I never played it. I actually borrowed BG2 from a co worker and forgot to return it. I believe I still have it. I think it had like six discs but I can't remember. I remember playing NWN co-op with my brother. I've played all the great ones, Super Mario World, Half-life, Goldeneye, OOT, FF7, MGS. I've always known about the BG games but I never played them. No reason, I love RPG's. So then I thought I had to give this a try because it seemed so perfect for the touch screen on the iPad. It works fairly well. I'm hoping and believing the upcoming patch (or later patches) will fix some of the door entering and picking up smaller objects. Anyways I know that BG and NWN and other games use the same ruleset. I've never played D&D and the way this game works is interesting.

I think I'm nearing the end of the first mines. I think the game is hard. I can probably get past some enemies after a third try but after that I get pissed off and put it down. (Playing on normal). I very recently played through Super Metroid for the first time (for funzies - 9hr51min 66%) and I really liked it. I think it's because there's no dialogue in that game. It's pure gameplay. Over the years I've grown a bit tired of dialogue in games unless it's done well.