Skip to content

Stalker or Fighter/Thief?

Hi guys. Its simple. I want a stelthy-backstabber + combat effective class. The idea is to play solo (and in multiplay) all the way to ToB and BG3 if it ever comes out.

I have some experience with Illusionist/Thief but his THAC0 sucks very much which makes him almost useless after making backstab. I want to be able to finish off opponents quickly after stepping from shadows. So the point is to make my battles a little bit versatile and not just backstab and run (I get burned out from that).

I'm not sure how much of a benefit will be those few mage spells after I get my hands on some powerful magic res. items and boots of speed.

Any thoughts?
Thanks

Comments

• MadhaxMadhax Member Posts: 1,416
    Fighter/thief probably works better for this style as a solo class. The Ranger would be the better combatant, at least early on, but the F/T can also take care of locks and traps. Plus, at high levels in BG2/ToB the F/T gets Use Any Item, which opens up all sorts of potential tactics.

I should note, though, that you'll need careful planning in allocating the F/T's thief skills if you're solo. You're basically going to have to completely forget about set snares and detect illusions in order to reach sufficient levels in the stealth skills, open locks, and find traps. You'll also need to quickly find all of the skill-enhancing items, keep a steady supply of potions around, and perhaps have some metagame knowledge of exactly how much of each skill you'll need.
  • RnRClownRnRClown Member Posts: 182
    I had a similar dilemma with my most recent playthrough (which I have just started). I choose a Swashbuckler as I found it best complimented my needs with a nice combat boost (which becomes more apparent as the game progresses) in the place of backstab which I am not as concerned with this time around. If backstab is in the mix then we're looking at the Stalker or F/T.