Skip to content

How true to D&D should BG be?

KoreKore Member Posts: 245
This is something that interests me. Personally I view BG not as a D&D game, but rather a game that uses D&D rules out of convenience. Some of you however are rule police and seem ready to point out an erroneous rule in a heartbeat. I'm interested in how many sit on which side of the fence and how you all feel about it.

This isn't directed at any feature request or anything, I'm just curious.
tenaWardZaccaroEudaemoniumMoomintrollRAM021

Comments

• AndreaColomboAndreaColombo Member Posts: 5,524
    To sum up my thoughts in one line, see @Anton's post ;-)
    bberry
  • ElectricMonkElectricMonk Member Posts: 599
    When I'm actually playing D&D, I'm a pretty strict rules lawyer myself... but Baldur's Gate is, to me, a game that implements D&D rules, not just a D&D campaign. I feel that the developers should always have the freedom to mold the rules system they're using around their game. However, it seems that in this case, the rules system consistently provides balance and fun, every mod that brings the game closer to PnP has improved it in my opinion. So although I would normally vote in favor of freedom to alter the rules in a cRPG, D&D is tried and true enough to sway my vote, it consistently makes the game better imo.
    nulspaceAndreaColombo
    @jaysl659

I agree wholeheartedly about P&P mods being a significant improvement for Baldur's Gate. aTWEAKS, as well as every P&P component from other mods, is mandatory in my every installation.

@Ward

Even if the game adhered more strictly to D&D rules, the game engine would still be doing all the rubbish for you. It would just be more consistent (and AI would be a lot smarter, if aTWEAKS is any indication; and it is) ;-)
    ElectricMonkAntonRAM021
  • trinittrinit Member Posts: 705
    edited June 2012