Skip to content

How true to D&D should BG be?

13»

Comments

• the_spyderthe_spyder Member Posts: 5,018
    I have actually played a lot of NWN1-2 and IWD2 and enjoy the system, but... 1E-2E are "My" rules sets of choice. As I said, the further along the game rules sets go, the more it seems to me to be focused on individual characters instead of group play. Where in 2E it was all about the group and each character plays a role in the group, in 3E and beyond it seems more focused towards the individual being "Balanced" and able to do just about everything.
  • TJ_HookerTJ_Hooker Member Posts: 2,438
    Wanderon said:

TJ_Hooker said:

Why wouldn't it be up to WotC? They hold the license, so it'd make sense that it'd be their choice. It's not a matter of them having to force the developers to change; all WotC would have to do is refuse to grant the devs the license if they aren't going to use the newest ruleset and, boom, no BG3.

I'm no lawyer (god forbid) but I would think that WoTC in fact GRANTED the license (or use of ) to use the modified 2E version for the BG series (in return for $$) and thus may not be able to stop the license holder from continueing to use that license within the series - they no doubt still have to be paid for it's use but they may not be able to force them to change to a new version (depending of course on how the original deal with them was forged)

All speculation of course on my part but I don't think it's out of the realm of possibilty.