Skip to content

The Problems of Power

I'm posting this because I see so many posts here in the help for new players section asking for most powerful this or the best that.

First off, I want to state for the record, that if that is the way you prefer to play a/this game then be all means enjoy yourself. Games are personal entertainment and how you choose to play is up to you.

That being said I'd like to offer you a reflection of some of my experiences with Baldur's Gate.

I was a freshman in college when this game (the original Baldur's Gate, not the EE version) came out and have played it on off with and without mods for quite some time. It was an awesome experience, because I played it without any knowledge of what to expect. I didn't know what class was the best, about min/maxing of stats, about what weapon type offered the best damage, or what 90% of the spells did. I learned. I've played with all 18's in stats, with decent rolls (over 85), with the minimum roll possible (75), as most of the classes and NPCs, solo runs, no re-loads, and numerous other ways, and the most enjoyment comes not from crushing my enemies by being overpowered, but by being competitive and using resources to defeat the obstacles the game presents. All of those play-throughs gave me something new, but none of them could ever compare with my first time through the game.

Please explore at your own pace and leisure this great treasure of PC gaming as many of those who are here to help you have done, but realize you have something that every single one of them would give up most of that knowledge for... the chance to play this game again without meta knowledge... when it was fresh and new.

I hope you all enjoy this game and share it with others who will in turn enjoy it too!

Comments

• zur312zur312 Member Posts: 1,366

I'm posting this because I see so many posts here in the help for new players section asking for most powerful this or the best that.