Skip to content

Automation of Party

Hey guys

I love BG on the iPad, but I'm new to the series (but not to rpgs)

Is there any way to automate the party members so that the mages cast spells best suited to the AI? Currently when I select all party members and attack and enemy they all go in for melee. Or do I have to manually manage the magic and such?

Also, on the iPad, the lantern that represents party AI on/off - what does that do exactly?

Comments

• iKrivetkoiKrivetko Member Posts: 934
    Character -> Customise -> Scripts
  • misharsenalmisharsenal Member Posts: 30
    @Illydth Thanks a lot - thats an amazingly clear reply, I totally get it.

• SirHablesSirHables Member Posts: 10
    @Illydth Do you recommend the Lantern/Script button to be turned on or off?
  • robertmarkbramrobertmarkbram Member Posts: 28
    SirHables said:

@Illydth Do you recommend the Lantern/Script button to be turned on or off?

I change my approach depending on what I want to do. By default I like to have it on so that - for example - when in combat, having just killed one enemy, they will automatically switch to the next. I also like to see how well Imoen can do back stab with the script.

One problem with the backstabbing thief script is that they always want to hide in shadows (normally a good thing) except 1) when you have directed your entire party to walk across half the map and Imoen fails a hide in shadows check.. she *stops* moving! (So I have to re-issue the move command.) and 2) many times Imoen is wounded and I get Jaheira to cast heal... but the spell is wasted because *just before* the spell fires, Imoen successfully hides in shadows and the spell fizzles!

So in many situations like this I want to micro-manage my party and direct them myself.
  • francofranco Member Posts: 507