Skip to content

need a tough fight pre-bandit camp, or advise on difficulty

I'm playing through BG with 4 friends of mine in a lan MP session: Fighter, Archer, Thief and Illusionist. Problem is, we've cleared Nashkel and some of the surrounding areas and the fighter and archer can tear through pretty much anything by themselves (Drizzt went down surprisingly quick to the archer with comp. longbow +1 and bracers of archery + summoned hobgoblins). For all I know, the difficulty is 'normal', meaning I haven't touched it, and my friends are complete noobs.

Short of Durlag's tower where we'd just die to traps, are there any hard fights before bandit camp? Doomsayer and the Idol comes to mind, but don't really remember how tough he is. Also, does difficulty affect mob stats only or their AI/actions as well?

Comments

• [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 3,675
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • CheesebellyCheesebelly Member Posts: 1,727
    Doomsayer is tought-tough, especially because I think it's completely immune to missile and normal weapons? (I am not sure, been really a long while). Doomsayer is definitely much more powerful than your standard battle horror or Doom Guard.

Khalak the Ogre Mage is also a tough bastard. He's located in the Firewine Bridge, you speak to a lady mage and you have to persuade her to give you her jar. At one point she'll die and this big-oh man with minor globe of invulnerability, incredible speed and lightning bolts will appear.

Other than those two, try the mercenary group on the south Gulykin border and the band of adventurers in the center of the Basilisks' area. Both those if fought all together can be matched to the final Bandit Camp fight (but they are definitely nowhere near as strong as the Cloakwood Mines exterior group)
  • lunarlunar Member Posts: 3,460
    Difficulty does not alter monster stats or intelligence. You just take double damage from everythin on insane difficulty.