Skip to content

Steam Autumn Sales (Advice Wanted!)

HeindrichHeindrich Member, Moderator Posts: 2,959
I'm a poor student so I don't tend to buy games on release unless A) I REALLY want them like BG 2EE. or B) They are on sale...

So I just logged into Steam and found out there is a massive Autumn sale under way, and the 'I can't help it! It's a bargain! side of me has kicked into life.' A few titles have jumped out at me (obviously already got BG EE).

1) Dark Souls (80% off)
I've only heard of this mentioned in passing, but 80 is SUCH a big number! lol

2) Skyrim Vanilla/Legendary (75% off or 66% off)
I've never played any of the Elder Scrolls games, but my friend tells me Skyrim works well as a stand-alone, and is a very good game. He hasn't played any of the DLCs so he can't advise me on whether I should get the Legendary pack or the Vanilla.

3) Final Fantasy 7 (66% off)
I've heard various friends wax lyrical about FF for years, but never got into the series, probably because I always viewed it as a console game, and I was never much of a console gamer. But it's cheap... so is this one any good? And do I need to play the earlier titles to make sense of it? (cos that's not gonna happen lol)

So please talk me into or out of buying the above games. I'm not even gonna be playing anything but Baldur's Gate for a few months at least, but I do find it hard to say no to a bargain. lol

TJ_Hooker

Comments

• ajwzajwz Member Posts: 4,122
    Don't buy the PC port of dark souls, it is really bad

2. Skyrim is very good for that price. It's one of those games which is very popular in spite of being not that amazing, but it's still a good time sink.

3. Worth playing if you can stand the dated graphics and poor control scheme for pc. You certainly don't need to have played any of the previous games, they are all totally stand along and not related to each other in any way.
  • AristilliusAristillius Member Posts: 873