Skip to content

Steam Autumn Sales (Advice Wanted!)

Comments

• HeindrichHeindrich Member, Moderator Posts: 2,959
    @ChildofBhaal599

Yes I played G&K at the beginning, and then bought BNW when it was on 33% sale. The main differences between the two, in addition to new factions and some changed factions are:

1) Less gold income from the land. For example u no longer get extra gold from tiles next to rivers. This somewhat reduces the importance of rivers.

2) Gold income is compensated by Trade Routes, for which you need to build caravans or cargo ships. You can trade internally, but the main benefit of trade route comes from foreign trade with regions with different resources. This has a few major consequences:

A. Cargo ships and caravans can be raided (destroyed) by barbarians or hostile civs, so you got an added incentive to destroy barbarian camps and patrol/protect your trade routes. This makes trade a bit of a high risk/high reward strategy. It can make you a tonne of gold, but you need to maintain a larger military to protect trade routes, and if a trading partner declares war on you, you lose all the cargo ships/caravans you had trading with that civ, which can be a massive economic blow.

B. This encourages more of a peaceful strategy than in G&K. In G&K I almost always try to conquer my nearest neighbours, now, if they are a fairly peaceful Civ like India, I often prefer to maintain friendly relations and establish a long term and stable trade partnership.

3) Tourism is the path to Cultural Victory. It has little effect until the Industrial Age and beyond. But in the late game it can have a big affect on other Civs even if you don't actually win via Cultural Victory.