Skip to content

Realistic in-game time limit for a fun challenge?

Ziva75Ziva75 Member Posts: 25
edited January 2014 in Challenges and Playthroughs
I'm new to imposing any kind of 'challenge' on my playthrough, but the idea of having an in-game time limit intrigues me.

My only problem, is that I have no idea what kind of time limit would be 'realistic'. I always usually go over 200 days, but that's because I'm spam-resting a LOT, and of course I'm allowed to explore every nook and cranny of the game.

Will put on a 10-reload limit as well.

What are some good average numbers for a player new to taking any kind of 'challenge' at all? This would be for vanilla BG EE 1, core difficulty rules.

Comments

• DrusycDrusyc Member Posts: 44
    My non-mage games normally last me ~40-60 days. In my last Half-Orc Swashy run, I dumped most of my thieving points into pickpocketing (since yoshimo/Imoen could cover traps/locks) and that run was under 30 days since I could freely recharge fireball/cloudkill/monster summoning wands, so all Imoen/Aerie needed rests for was to clear the fatigue status.

Not saying this is a fair way to look at the game, but if you put a fair pace between metagame resting and no-resting at all even on hardcore because your thief has kleptomania, well...

maybe 80-90 days? Down to 60 if you RP easy access to gold and your CHARNAME is in a rush to get his/her and Imoen's soul back. The former would be fairer because some battles require a lot more prep than Carsomyr + wands + stolen everything, 'specially in SCS, and even more especially if you limit reloads.
  • Ziva75Ziva75 Member Posts: 25
    What about for BG 1 though?

And wow... those are some low limits (at least for me). Though again, I bet if I actually 'try' to minimize my playtime, it will shorten quite a bit.
  • DrusycDrusyc Member Posts: 44