Skip to content

Rejecting Edwin

Hello everyone!

First of all, this is my first post on the forums so I would like to briefly introduce myself. Skip to the next paragraph if you do not care about my existence. I played Baldur's Gate for the first time around 12 years ago when I was a kid. With the release of the Enhanced Edition recently, I decided to play it again since I barely remember anything from the plot, apart from a few scenes and Minsc owning a hamster. So far, I am loving every single second of it. You will probably get to see me lurking in the forums a lot now that I started playing BG and BGII, since I always liked spending time in forums (when I am not gaming or being otherwise lazy).

And now that my "cool story bro" moment has ended, let's move on to my original question: I made it to Nashkel and met Edwin on the bridge. Now, I remember fairly well that Edwin's really powerful, but since I tend to prioritize RP before metagaming - party / character optimal strength etc, I told him that I would not help him if he gave me no more information on his quest to kill whatshername. He got frustrated and left. I saw him entering the inn nearby when he left, so I figured he'd be there as an NPC in case I ever decided to aid him, but he is not there. Bottom line is, is he gone forever? Will I never encounter him again?

Cheers for the replies! :)

Comments

• MitchforkMitchfork Member Posts: 390
    edited January 2014
    In BG1 a lot of NPC's leave by walking to an area exit but they don't actually transition between areas- they just disappear. Many of the joinable NPC's in BG1 do vanish permanently if you refuse to take them in when first talking to them. Off-hand I remember that Xzar/Montaron, Garrick, and Viconia follow this, and probably a lot more, so that's probably what happened here. The only way to get him again would be to reload the game to before you talked to him or use the console to "cheat" him back into the game so you can talk again.