Skip to content

Need some advice about TotSC

MidoriMidori Member Posts: 26
Hello there!

It's my first time playing BG with TotSC (though I've played BG a long time ago - never finished though) and I have a question if you don't mind answering.

Is it better to go through all the TotSC quests before or after you go trough Baldur's Gate? It seems like the quests in TotSC are quite hard (especially Durlag's Tower) and I'm not sure my 5-ish leveled party would be quite up to it. On the other hand, if I remember correctly, Baldur's Gate wasn't so hard (to a point where I quit at least).

What's your advice?

Comments

• HeindrichHeindrich Member, Moderator Posts: 2,959
    Hello and welcome. :)

Whilst an experienced player can get through TotSC quests at relatively early levels, all the TotSC quests are considered endgame quests for BG 1, and designed to be done near the end of the game. Durlag's Tower is especially difficult (the upper levels are okay, the basement is a deathtrap).

Make sure you got a thief trained to have 100 in Find Traps. It's gonna be useful. ;)
  • MidoriMidori Member Posts: 26
    edited February 2014
    Thanks for the quick reply! :D

The reason I asked at all is that I stumbled upon Durlag's tower on the map and I didn't remember it from the last time I played (totally forgot TotSC is included when I purchased BG:EE) so I went to check it out - only to be killed (repeatedly) by battle horrors. If that's what's guarding the place - I wonder what hell must be inside. Then I did a bit of googling and decided it's best to ask the experts :)
    I'm currently at chapter 5 - so I guess it's best to wait till chapter 7 to get more experience right?

As for the thieves, I've got Imoen and Coran in my party - Coran with 100 in Picking Locks and Imoen with 100 in finding traps - so that part's already covered :)
  • HeindrichHeindrich Member, Moderator Posts: 2,959
    edited February 2014