Skip to content

Hearts of Iron 3 (and other Paradox games)

elminsterelminster Member, Developer Posts: 16,315
Anyone play this much? I just got back into it and I'm playing as the good ol US of A. Pretty fun stuff but very complicated!
jackjack

Comments

• CahirCahir Member, Moderator, Translator (NDA) Posts: 2,819
    Installed it one day, started a new game, looked at all the tables and data and run away screaming. When I got myself together I uninstalled it, leaving it for fanatics:)

I'm to old for this kind of stuff...way to impatient.
    elminster
  • jackjackjackjack Member Posts: 3,251
    I greatly enjoy Europa Universalis IV and Crusader Kings II, but I confess I've yet to successfully finish a single game. I'm not very good at them yet, but they are quite addicting.
    elminsterAristillius
  • elminsterelminster Member, Developer Posts: 16,315
    What I like is how random it can sometimes be. Like in my case in like 1940 Japan invaded Sydney and is now moving through Australia.
    jackjack
  • HeindrichHeindrich Member, Moderator Posts: 2,959
    Cahir said:

I'm to old for this kind of stuff...way to impatient.

Hmm... it's usually the young un's that lack the patience to get into a complex game like... oh I dunno, Baldur's Gate. :P

Anyways I've played Hearts of Iron 2 quite a lot in the past. Tried it with Soviet Union, Great Britain, Germany, Nationalist China and Communist China.

I loved the complexity and detail, and 'effort' at realism. Sure it's not perfect, but it is refreshing to find a game that actually tries to capture the strategic factors that determine real wars, rather than "build units... kill enemy units... success!".

I mean it is the only game where battles are not won or lost by killing your enemy, but rather when they lose morale and organisation to the extent that they lose fighting effectiveness and are forced to retreat.