Skip to content

Advice for Pathfinder - help!

CorvinoCorvino Member Posts: 2,269
I finally decided to get back into a bit of honest-to-goodness PnP, maybe starting Monday. The nearest group to me is mostly playing Pathfinder at the moment, waiting for D&D Next to release and everything to settle down.

I have no experience with Pathfinder and the last time I played any PnP was Second Ed. D&D about 14 years ago. I have a working knowledge of 3E and 3.5E which I understand Pathfinder is based on. All of said "knowledge" comes from CRPGs. I've been having a read of a couple of articles linked in these forums about being a better roleplayer, and have had a quick skim of the d20pfsrd.com site for rules.

Before I stumble blindly into Pathfinder, can anyone offer some general advice, input or suggestions to make me less of a helpless noob?
jackjackbooinyoureyes

Comments

• DrugarDrugar Member Posts: 1,566
    It's kind of going to a physics convention and asking people to 'just' explain physics beforehand. Not that it's that complicated, just...well there's a lot to explain if you have no basis.

That said, if you've played Temple of Elemental Evil (which I believe you have) then you'll have knowledge enough since ToEE is pretty much exactly 3.5 D&D, system wise.

Few differences in Pathfinder from 3.5 D&D:
    You get a feat every second level, not every third.
    All skill ranks cost 1 skillpoint, there are no cross-class skills. Class skills get an inherent +3 bonus, that's it. Some skills have been merged into one (Tumble, Balance and Jump are now Acrobatics).
    Minor buffs to all races. Every race gets two +2's and one -2, except humans, half orcs and half elves who get one +2 to an ability score of their choice. Dwarves, for example, get +2 Con and +2 Wisdom, -2 Charisma.