Skip to content

[Help needed] Redesigning existing kit (Skald)

BalladBallad Member Posts: 205
edited May 2014 in General Modding
Disclaimer: I'm completely new at this; please be gentle :)

Hello everyone! I am curious about finding out what goes into making a rebalancing mod for an existing kit (Skald in my case.) I have done minor modifications to kits and spells with NearInfinity before - so I have a faint idea about the 2DA files involved. However, this time I would like to turn my ideas into a proper WeiDU mod so that other people could possibly give it a try as well.

I have read the kit creation tutorial at Gibberlings3 and while it looks daunting, I am sort of starting to wrap my head around it. However, I am still confused as to how this all applies when customizing existing kits, the ADD_KIT command is for creating new kits after all. And even if that was not an issue, I would still have a lot of unresolved questions, such as how to modify/create special abilities.

I suppose I should be specific rather than general, so here is the idea I am trying to implement:

Skald Rebalancing (builds on Rogue Rebalancing)

I have always thought BG2 did a horrible job with this fantastic-sounding kit, essentially relegating him to a support role. Rogue Rebalancing remedied this issue somewhat, though the class was still too passive for my liking. In redesigning the kit, I drew on my experiences with Dark Age of Camelot, an mmorpg in which Skalds were fearsome nordic warriors, able to fight using two-handed Viking weaponry and sing their battlesongs at the same time. I also kept some of the Rogue Rebalancing components such as the song and the HLAs. Here's what I came up with:

Skald