Skip to content

Dwarven Cleric/Fighter

I am new to BG... yes new to BG... though I have played many D&D games. My typical build is a cleric/fighter/Dwarven defender. I am wondering if this is a possible build and if it is effective. I understand BG is quite hardcore and old school and I am playing through it my first time. I started out as a plain ol Cleric. Default combo and hope to advance to a cleric/dwarven defender.... is this possible or should I start over as a dwarven defender and switch to cleric around level 7?

Thanks! any help is appreciated.

Comments

• GlorenBronzebeardGlorenBronzebeard Member Posts: 45
    Hello and thanks for a response. I see... Well I like the idea of my party having a healer priest leader... But I read somewhere you encounter a cleric dwarf somewhere along the way.... I'm playing on a nexus so no save editor.... Perhaps I will go full dwarven defender and start fresh... Any feed back on either class?? can a full cleric hold his own with healing spells? Or am I better off tanking in defensive stance..... Never winter nights dwarven defender cleric was my go to... Too bad I can't recreate.... So far early game the cleric has been a good support character fo my party... Horrible alone...so I hope I do not get separated....
  • BlackravenBlackraven Member Posts: 3,486
    You're welcome :)
    Single class Clerics are strong in BG1 and in Shadows of Amn where you'll face lots of powerful Undead. In the final part of the trilogy (Throne of Bhaal) I find them a bit less convincing though definitely still useful.
    Healing potions abound, so you'll likely end up using your spell slots mostly for other types of spells than healing spells: a couple of good debilitating spells, a few nice summoning spells, good buffs).