Skip to content

Ranger/archer longbow question

Hello, i'm pretty new to the game and i've searched everywhere i could but couldn't find the answer to this...
I've read a few guides and such that say that Archer can reach grand mastery in bows, but as i play, i seem unnable to put more then 2 points in them! It just doesn't want to. Am i missing somethign pretty obvious?

Comments

• ryuken87ryuken87 Member Posts: 563
    You can't put more than two at creation in BG1. You will get another point at levels 3, 6, 9, etc. This means you won't be able to get GM until BG2. Only some very specific dual class builds of fighters to thieves/clerics/druids allow you to get GM in BG1. For some silly design reason, GM in bows doesn't give you the attack bonus that melee weapons do.
  • RachnarRachnar Member Posts: 9
    Oh ok, thanks a lot! Are longbows generally better then crossbows? (without counting the elf affinity with bows)
  • luskanluskan Member Posts: 269
    In BG1 the best bows are longbows. If you're planning on playing into BG2, its better to go shortbow or crossbow.
    Ok i'll go with crossbows then, they appeal more to me!
    Another unrelated question, is making a monk in Baldur's Gate 1 worth it to import into the second one later on? From what i've read they're just exceptionally weak early on, and maybe not worth the hassle.
  • ElrandirElrandir Member Posts: 1,664
    For the record, there is a thread specifically for asking general questions about the game, so if you want to use it, feel free. Keeps the forums less polluted, and there are several people who are always willing to answer your questions, so it never takes long. Here's the link:

http://forum.baldursgate.com/discussion/32171/the-general-questions-thread#latest

A word of warning. It is occasionally spoiler filled, so that is one "danger" for new players. Also, I'm not telling you this because you've done anything wrong, it's just so you're aware of the resource. =)