Skip to content

Adding characters after game has started

Even though I've been an avid tabletop ADD player for over 20+ years I am new to electronic gaming, and especially IWD. Thankfully I found the manual on the developers website and though many concepts are familiar to me, I can't find the answer to my problem. Being new to IWD I'm making mistakes, which usually is not biggy. However, one of my mistakes was a identity getting my cleric killed. I couldn't figure out a way to carry the body back to the Temple so I left in in the caves. I was hoping that when I returned to town, Hrothgar would ask if I wanted an NPC cleric to join us, but no dice. Now I'm at the very beginning of the Tree town ( think it starts with a K) and don't want to proceed further until I understand my options and whether I'm going to have to plan on doing this entire campaign without a cleric...yuck! Can someone with more experi nice please let me know my options? Thank you.

Comments

• AudacesAudaces Member Posts: 57
    You don't need a body to resurrect a dead character - as long as the portrait is still there (grayed out), you can visit a temple (there is one in Kuldahar) and purchase a resurrect.

All you really need to do when a character dies is either raise them immediately (if you have a cleric and have the spell ready) or collect the equipment and head to a temple.
    Shikaojackjack
  • elminsterelminster Member, Developer Posts: 16,315
    edited November 2014
    Sure.

Hopefully you picked up all their items. If not they probably didn't have much of any value so its not a biggy.

Basically there are two different approaches you could take here.