Skip to content

Game way too easy? (insane, but non-heart-of-fury)

BelegCuthalionBelegCuthalion Member, Mobile Tester Posts: 453
so i have started my first IWD:EE playthrough ... latest patch, almost no mods (npc portraits, some selected bgTweaks).
i am an experienced infinity engine player, and usually play with SCSI in baldurs gate games.

for icewind dale, i started playing on highest difficulty by slider, but not (yet) heart of fury mode. my characters started level 1, and they may be slightly on the power gamers side stats-wise but not "too much". it's a dwarven defender, ghost hunter, priest of tempus, fighter/thief, avenger druid and illusionist.

I now played to the beginning of kresselaks tomb (his main crypt, beginning of it), and my characters are all evel 4-5 now, kicking undead butts like hell ... well it's so easy defacto don't ever have to reload, i don't need buffs or any special tactics ... just rush in, hit and wait ... that takes the challenge out of the game to a level i don't enjoy playing, and i have the impression it's getting "worse" the further i advance ...

so am i doing somthing "wrong"? am i leveling up too fast (and why)? should i play heart of fury with my low-level chars (i do like a challenge but don't like "prove of concept" gaming)? should i switch back to baldurs gate games and wait until something like SCSI comes out for IWD:EE?

thanks for your advise
Beleg Cuthalion

Comments

• WowoWowo Member Posts: 2,064
    I've found two challenging runs so far:
    1. Insane difficulty, single classes characters, no adjusting stat rolls, no reload, random HP rolls, no OP kits (Avenger, Sorcerer, Archer, Dwarven Defender are definite no-nos).

I wanted to do this run on core but some of the more interesting spawns only occur on insane difficulty. My preference would be to have insane spawns with core xp and damage.