Skip to content

Modding questions from a newb

ChiparikChiparik Member Posts: 5
edited January 2015 in General Modding
Hey guys,

I just started fiddling with DLTCEP trying to edit some items in BG2EE and I have a few questions. (Read I'm completely lost)

1. So I understand I can use and existing item, change the ID and essentially create a new item, but I was wondering about editing existing items (All longbow +1 for example). Does DLTCEP automatically create overrides for all changes? I'm terrified of mucking up and not being able to undo all the damage I'll no doubt cause. At one point I think it said it was making a backup, but I couldn't seem to find the file, and I only remember seeing say that once.

2. How do I package all my changes into one mod? I'm trying to wrap my head around Weidu, but I have zero knowledge about programming, and all the tutorials are flying way over my head. Every time I read, "I assume you know what 'xxx' command is," I feel yet another dagger in my heart. I was trying to follow this template:

http://forum.baldursgate.com/discussion/15010/short-introduction-to-weidu-and-simple-mod-template/p1

but I'm not really sure what to do after I make the TP2 file and move my item files into copy. How would I actually make this into an installation executable?

3. This one is more specific to how effects work in the editor. I wanted to make a weapon that would lower an enemies spell resistance when it hits. I reckon I need to add the "Stat: Magic Resistance Modifier [166]" effect under the extended effects tab, but I'm wondering if this effect is stacking; meaning if I set the value at say -5% will every hit give an additional 5% penalty (-15% after 3 hits), or will it only be -5% no matter how many hits? Is there a way to make it work as a stackable debuff? Am I even on the right track with this?