Skip to content

Party without thief?

Hey together,
I'm new to the game and have a few questions. I just completed the quest where i get Dynaheir. Now i saw that Dynaheir and Minsc work the same way as Khalid and Jaheira - either you take both or none. The members of my party atm are my sorcerer, kagain as tank, imoen with a bow and minsc with a two-handed sword. I want to have only 4 party members because of the faster leveling. So i need to kick one member because i really want to keep minsc and thought of Imoen. My question: Is a Party without a thief possible? Is this party constellation good?

And another short question about a different issue: Minsc is a Ranger and can only get specialized with weapons. But he can invest 3 points in two-weapon-style? Is this a exception?

I hope someone can help me with my questions :)

Greets,
Azagio

Comments

• PingwinPingwin Member Posts: 262
    Thieves are pretty much essential. They are the only class that can disarm traps. You can complete the game without a thief but it will be a struggle.

If you really want a party of 4, you could sack Kagain. He is evil and will get upset if your party gets a very high reputation. Or take Dynaheir along as a party of 5 and let her stray into the claws of some passing monsters.
  • elminsterelminster Member, Developer Posts: 16,315
    Azagio said:

And another short question about a different issue: Minsc is a Ranger and can only get specialized with weapons. But he can invest 3 points in two-weapon-style? Is this a exception?

Yes. Rangers and Paladins can get *** in two-weapon style.
  • elminsterelminster Member, Developer Posts: 16,315
    edited March 2015
    I would ditch Kagain as well.
  • MusignyMusigny Member Posts: 1,027
    It is also good to know that the XP cap is set at 161000 points. If you like to explore all the areas and manage all the quests then a 6 member team will hit that limit (long) before the end of the game.