Skip to content

Need help with Arcane Spells

Raven999Raven999 Member Posts: 20
Hello, long time Baldur's Gate sorcerer\mage player here in need of help.

I've played both the original IWD and IWD II games a while ago, and although they were fun, you just didn't get that same thrill you get from playing an arcane caster in BG II.
The addition of the BG spells is what made me wanna try out IWD:EE.
The ability to play a BG-style mage/sorcerer with all the associated cheesiness (clones/projected images, sequencers, triggers, contingencies, endless wish spell strategies...etc) really makes it worthwhile for me.

I just started playing IWD:EE about week ago and have been trying to find out everything there is to know about the tweaks and modifications that were done to the Baldur's Gate spells.

Ex: I already know about changes made to once-fantastic spells like Web, Abi'dalzim's Horrid Wilting and Greater Malison. Some spells seem to have been tweaked to better fit into the game balance of IWD.
I can live with that.

I'm not asking for a detailed description of all the changes and tweaks that were done to the spells, what I'm after is actually more basic than that.

I'm currently playing as the group sorcerer in a multiplayer game with one of my siblings and a friend.
Right now I'm only level 8, but much like I used to do in Baldur's Gate, I have my planned spell selection ready for the next 15 levels or so.

So having all the BG II spells is really cool and all, but I have my doubts about whether or not my usual BG II spell selection will cut it in IWD:EE.

I'm sure most of you will agree that what made playing mage/sorcerer so fun in BG were the long mage vs mage battles.
Each mage would spend multiple rounds piercing through or stripping each other's magic protection spells, scrying through each other's illusion, unleashing triggers and sequencers...etc.