Skip to content

Is this a sequel?

Please forgive me for being such a noob, I just started playing baldurs gate 1, and I have 2 for later. Anyway I'm wondering if this is a sequel? I'm also wondering about neverwinter nights, is it like baldurs gate at all? Thanks.

Comments

• kristaokkristaok Member Posts: 51
    Thanks a lot, sorry for my lack of knowledge in these games I just started but I really like bg :).
  • SvarSvar Member Posts: 157
    edited November 2015
    Within the world of the games, another thing that sets Icewind Dale apart from Baldur's Gate is that IWD is set in the year 1281 DR, which is long before the start of BG in 1368 DR.

Also, there's no need to feel bad about lacking knowledge. Everybody has to start somewhere. Welcome aboard the zany train aka the BG fandom.
    Post edited by Svar on
  • kristaokkristaok Member Posts: 51
    edited September 2015
    Thank you all! I'm torn between pillars of eternity, Icewind Dale, and neverwinter nights... I just wish poe had no curse words.

Edit: I also heard planescape torment was good thanks all.
  • NimranNimran Member Posts: 4,875
    By the way, welcome to the forum! Have a :cookie:!
  • spacejawsspacejaws Member, Mobile Tester Posts: 389
    If you are enjoying baldurs gate then try Icewind Dale! It's very similar gameplay wise but also different, the game is more linear and focused on big dungeon crawls than lots of side quests and NPC's. You do get to create 6 characters for your party which can be alot of fun and it's still a fairly huge game!

Planescapr Tormet is like Baldurs Gate but in the total opposite direction than Icewind Dale! It had a huge focus on story, NPC's and quests but not so much on combat. That said it is many peoples favourite Infinity Engine game!