Skip to content

Icewind Dale Roleplay-ish Duo Playthrough: The Urisunal Brothers

OlvynChuruOlvynChuru Member Posts: 3,075
edited November 2014 in Challenges and Playthroughs
I don't usually roleplay when I play the IE games (I don't usually powergame either, but I don't roleplay). So in this playthrough I might fail utterly to roleplay these my two characters but I'm still new to roleplaying.

The two characters are:
Sarestu Yoravian Urisunal, a transmuter
and Erastir Asdulero Urisunal, a warrior

The Urisunals were raised in a moderately wealthy family in Bryn Shander. Sarestu, the older brother, was an aspiring transmuter, but his fondness for getting into long debates with his brother and friends made it incredibly difficult for him to focus on his magical studies. Erastir, on the other hand, had a much more antisocial nature which allowed him to concentrate on his training; he rarely conversed with anyone outside of his own family.

Both of them shared an urge to solved mysteries that they thought had never been solved before. At one point, Erastir paid a skilled alchemist to concoct a large and terribly mutating violet potion. He drank the entire flask at once to see what would happen, and the effects were incredibly painful. Erastir's body became warped far beyond repair, imbuing him permanently with the might of a titan and the agility and stamina of a slug. It took him heroic effort simply to walk the short distance home. Because wearing heavy armor would now be too draining on him, he decided to start practicing unarmored combat.

One day, Sarestu heard a rumor of "malevolent forces" at work in the lands beyond the village of Easthaven, and of an expedition starting at that village to investigate. Both of the brothers wanted to go on this expedition, but their parents refused, saying that their talents would be more useful and profitable for defending Bryn Shander and the caravans near it against bandits and the like.