Skip to content

Does Minsc Need Time Off

Hello guys, I recently started playing again and wanted to play the canon party, so naturally I picked up Minsc. Unfortunately, I am at a cross-roads. At level 4, Minsc only had 20 max hit points while every one except the mage is in the 30s. he has apparently rolled a 1 for all his hit dice each level. At level 3 I was forced to take him off the front lines and relegate him as an archer which he did superbly; however, i stumbled upon Coran. Since I plan to dual class Imoen, and Coran can fill both the role of a thief and a better archer than Minsc, I was forced to abandon Minsc to the way side. I heard that if you level a couple times you can come back to a previous party member and find their data file has switched to a predetermined one to match your level, for instance if i get to level 6, there is a level 6 file for Minsc.

So I must ask, If I go away for a while and return will he progress to match my level? because i desperately need another front line fighter.

Comments

• GallowglassGallowglass Member Posts: 3,356
    Seems like Minsc has been extremely unlucky with his HP rolls, poor chap.

It's true that there are various versions of the recruitable NPCs at different levels, so that you can recruit them at a level roughly similar to your protagonist's level. If you ignore a recruitable NPC when you first see him but later (a level or two later) pass through that area again, then you'll sometimes notice that he looks different because his armour has changed, since it's now a higher-level version of the character wearing better equipment. (It's only a noticeable change in a few cases, not all.)