Skip to content

Where are Lilacor's lines?

rw1954rw1954 Member Posts: 24
Does anyone know where the text files for Lilacor's random comments are located (dialog file name)? I also can't find some of the non-quest journal entries. Are they all in the same file, and if so, any idea which one?

Comments

• argent77argent77 Member Posts: 3,433
    Lilarcor's dialog file is SW2H14.DLG. Random comments are triggered by the global BALDUR.BCS script (or BALDUR25.BCS in ToB).
  • rw1954rw1954 Member Posts: 24
    You're right. There are some lines of Lilacor dialog in the SW2H14.DLG file, and the random comments are triggered by the BALDUR.BCS script, but my question is this: Where are the text files for the random comments? Those lines of dialog aren't included in the SW2H14.DLG file, and I haven't been able to find them using any search options (dialog, creature, item, script...). I'm still learning about editing dialog, and any assistance would be appreciated.
    edited May 2016
    The text itself is always stored in the dialog.tlk. The respective lines are specified in various game resources as numeric values (aka string references or strrefs) which refer to the text entries in the dialog.tlk.
  • rapsam2003rapsam2003 Member Posts: 1,636
    You need to use NearInfinity or DLTECP to explore the dialog.tlk. All Infinity Engine games use the same idea.
    You have *.DLG files, which are added to the dialog.tlk. (The dialog.tlk is touchy, so use WeiDU to edit DLG files -- don't just edit DLG files yourself and expect it to work. That's a good way to mess up the dialog.tlk) Those files are added to the dialog.tlk, where a strref points to the text itself.

Sidenote: This use of the dialog.tlk persisted even in NWN1/2, which use a different engine.