Skip to content

The lack of comical "Minsc-Quotes".

I want to talk about Minsc here (again). The majority got way too focused in Minsc's GamerGate quote (which is getting removed). Personally, as fan of Baldur's Gate, I was overwhelmingly disappointed with Minsc overall in Siege of Dragonspear. The very first time I started playing Siege of Dragonspear, I started spamming Minsc. I wanted to hear what he had to say. Will we hear the classic lines differently or does Minsc have something new to say? That's what most people I did I guess. That's why the GG-line became so controversial. Minsc is a classic character that many people first think about when talking about Baldur's Gate. He is a "cult-classic", an icon to the series. Even if first Baldur's Gate had very few lines. Those were still memorable.

A little porfolio of Minsc;

Baldur's Gate;

Baldur's Gate II;

Baldur's Gate: Siege of Dragonspear

The problem with Siege of Dragonspear is how uninspiring and generic Minsc was compared to the classics. I don't know if he gets any better. I only played the expansion for 10 hours, but I wasn't very impressed with the character. Of course in Baldur's Gate there wasn't much party banter and NPC reactions like in BG2. But when I played Baldur's Gate 1 for the first time and met Minsc in Nashkel. I knew that it was a character that was going to stay in my party 'till the end. He was a powerful melee ranger and his voice was just amusing. Man I was excited when Minsc returned in BG2, in the very beginning no less. It's been a character I've always kept with me in almost every playthrough, even in evil ones. BG2 especially dosen't feel the same without Minsc.