Skip to content

modding newbie questions

amikaamika Member Posts: 34
edited June 2016 in General Modding
i am brand new to modding as of like a week ago, and truth be told i've never even coded anything more difficult than baby html and css for babies before.

To start easy, I just began adding to existing NPCs. In particular, Dorn felt a little strange in SoA after he got all this great character development in SoD, so I wanted to update the interactions with him, also because I am such an orc hound. Now you own my shame and secrets.

Is it generally a faux pas to modify existing NPCs? I want to... not to be a total jerk about adding onto someone else's writing. Is it a compliment? Because I got so attached to the NPC? I know nothing.

Anyway,

1. I put a vampire quest in Dorn's romance track because I could check my work against existing code - but I can rely mostly on append and extend because it's almost all new content. It works, but some of the code feels a little unnecessarily destructive. I replaced the dialogue block that includes the cutscene where Bodhi would normally fail to capture Dorn and had it reference my new cutscene, for example, so I was wondering if there was a less destructive way to replace that one line?

from bodhiamb.dlg
IF ~~ THEN BEGIN 26 // from: SAY #95199 /* ~You will submit to me, Dorn—one way or another.~ */ IF ~~ THEN DO ~ClearAllActions() StartCutSceneMode() StartCutSceneEx("OHDBODH1",FALSE) // < I only need to change this one. ~ EXIT END
Similar case for his final lovetalk which references a variable that doesn't exist instead of his patron variables, or (maybe this is a little different) if I want to make an existing dialogue reply set or increment a variable.