Skip to content

How much is really possible? (very long and rambling post, make a cup of tea first)

chilvencechilvence Member Posts: 50
edited May 2016 in UI Modding
This is a pretty vague question, I know, but I am asking it because I have no experience with lua so I can't make a snap assessment. Beyond just moving a few buttons around and peering meekly in terror at UI.menu, I haven't been doing much other than play the game.

Don't get me wrong I am stoked that such an integral part of the game has been opened up for modding - but I am really worried that the potential might be limited by what the programmers at Beamdog have planned for. I am almost fanatical about open source gaming, I hate the fact that mainstream games are designed to be sold like a sealed appliance, used once and then thrown away. My school used to teach us computer logic on Acorns using a thing called LOGO, in primary 3. Since I discovered PC gaming, I've never owned a console since the Mega Drive
(*that's what it's called, and it's still better than the SNES)
I am actually giddily excited about the prospect of playing an open source clone of Red Alert 2 in development that I found the other week.

Open source is something I really like GemRB for, because the sky is the limit. If you don't about know it, it is a very valiant attempt at a clone of the infinity engine. It's not perfect, I feel it's safer to call it an enthusiasts project because it takes some patience to set up, but you can actually play BG1/2 and IWD1 all the way through, and unlike here, Icewind Dale 2 and Planescape Torment are actually visible on the distant horizon... but I digress..