Skip to content

AOE spells - radius indicator

PeldinPeldin Member Posts: 46
edited September 2016 in Feature Requests
I'm new to BG, but I looked through the first 8 pages of Feature Requests and didn't see anything related to my request.

After playing through BG1, I had a hard time placing aoe spells in the position I wanted them in. Either I would place them too close to my melee, causing them to be webbed, fireballed, etc... or I would place them too far away and render it useless.

I think it would be a fantastic toggle feature if a very lightly colored radius indicator appeared around your cursor when you selected an AOE spell. It would be even cooler if the color was associated with the type of spell. For example, when you click to cast Fireball, a very faint red circle would appear around your mouse cursor in a 30-ft radius.

I know a lot of the more experienced players would have no use for this as they intuitively know exactly how far 30 feet is in the game. For people like myself that have only played through BG1:EE once and just purchased SOD and BG2:EE, this would be immensely helpful to cut down that "learning curve."

Adding on to that feature, I think it would also be great to have a similar feature for conal spells or "beam"-like spells like Aghanazar's Scorcher. When you select that specific spell, it would be neat if a 2-ft wide beam automatically attached itself between the caster and your cursor. Or for something like Color Spray, a faded fan of color would show itself on your cursor and you could direct the fan instead of the mage. In doing so, the mage would actually move to the specific location needed to cast Color Spray in the location and direction that you set.

Are these features possible or are they desired by anyone else?

Comments

• mf2112mf2112 Member, Moderator Posts: 1,919
    edited September 2016