Skip to content

Dual-wielding or shield for a F/M?

MrFixitMrFixit Member Posts: 2
A long-time BG player here, but this is my first time trying out the Enhanced Edition. A simple question really, though one that is giving my OCD side some problems :D

I rolled up, legitimately and with much clicking, a multi-class F/M elf with STR 18/00, DEX 19, and CON 17 in an install with several mods, including Sword Coast Stratagems (though not with all the crazy difficulty-increasing options enabled). I know that in BG2 dual-wielding rules supreme, but I wonder if it's true for BG1 as well (save importing into the next game doesn't concern me). Simply put, I can't make up my mind between these two options:

(1) at lvl1 putting 2 points in longswords and 2 points in dual-wielding with the 3rd point coming at lvl3 and a point in longbows at lvl6;
(2) ignoring the dual-wield option altogether and going for 2 points in swords and 2 in bows right at the beginning with additional points at subsequent levels into something else.

My reasoning: I like dual-wielding for the obvious extra attack, giving me 2.5 instead of 1.5 att/round (at lvl7 increasing to 3 attacks instead of 2). On the other hand, since my F/M will be of lower AC due to limited armor options, I fear that the additional lack of a shield will only compound the problem. Also, in BG1 ranged weapons are fantastic, and I'd also miss out on longbow specialization. I imagine that with THACO values not going into stratosphere in BG1, I imagine the off-hand would still miss quite often with its -2 penalty.

The second scenario would somewhat limit my melee DPS, but it would substantially boost my ranged DPS and my AC.

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated. <3

Comments

• NeverusedNeverused Member Posts: 803