Skip to content

[Question] Specialists Mages

RaduzielRaduziel Member Posts: 4,714
How the game identifies that a wizard is a specialist one to provide its bonus and restrictions?

I made a test creating a Necromancer and there is no effect applied to it like I saw in every kit that I reverse-engineered.

Here's the problem: I want to make a wizard kit that's is actually a necromancer kit (from the Complete Necromancer Handbook). To do so my idea is to make a standard wizard and apply a kit on top of it with an effect that provides what a specialist usually gets (for better or for worst).

The problem is: the opcode that provides bonus vs school save is not IWDEE compatible (dammit, Beamdog, upgrade the damn thing) but specialists in IWDEE gets those bonus anyway, so it's not this opcode (346) that is used.

I know how to provide the extra spells per level, but IDK what to do with the spells restriction (banning Illusion and Enchantment as P&P) and save bonus (for self) and penalty (for others).

Can anyone give me a hand in this matter?

Thanks!
«1

Comments

  • AquadrizztAquadrizzt Member Posts: 1,065
    edited July 2017
    Change the usability flag to whatever the Necromancer usability flag happens to be (0x00001000 in a default installation). This will make it behave as a Necromancer for the purposes of item/spell restrictions. This will also give any other bonuses that are hardcoded to the Necromancer (such as the -2 save penalty on Necromancy spells you cast, the bonus spell slot, etc.)

    edited because kjeron would know more (below)
  • kjeronkjeron Member Posts: 2,367
    The save bonus/penalty is hardcoded to their specific KITIDS, not the unusability flag.
    Opcode 346 can get you the bonus, but their is no way to recreate the penalty.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 0
    edited July 2017
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
    Post edited by [Deleted User] on
    Raduziel
  • RaduzielRaduziel Member Posts: 4,714
    Ok, I'm working on a plan B in the mean time to compensate the probable loss of the bonus/penalty.

    I know that Opcode 191 increases the Caster Level by the amount of p1.

    My idea is to make an effect with Opcode 191 (target self / permanent after death / bypass resistance / no dispel) that increases the caster level by one and combine it with Opcode 177 to make the caster level goes up only against a specific foe.

    IDK if it's possible, but I'm gonna try.

    And one opcode (178) says something about a parameter 3. I use DLTC (because NearInfinity hates my PC) and have no idea of where this parameter is. Maybe the camp "Value?", or not?

    To finish this plan B, I want to combine OpC177 with OpC37 and 34 to give save vs a specific foe.

    Ok, we all know that this foe is an undead, but I want to pretend that it's not that obvious.

    Thank you all for the reply. I loved @subtledoctor idea and would certainly use it in a mod for personal use, but I can't see how would be viable to apply this in a mod open for the community - many people don't even know how to use modmerge.

    If the mere usability flag will ban Illusion, 90% of the job is done. The other 10% is listed above. I will just add to the kit cons "no bonus/penalty on Necromancy spells" and that's it.

    I'm a simple man.

  • RaduzielRaduziel Member Posts: 4,714
    Ok, Opcode 177 is kind of making me sad.

    I created an effect (.eff) to use with it, but everytime I select the Opcode 177 and go to "load external effect" instead of it being listed in the field Resource the external effect replaces the Opcode 177.

    Also, my idea of using the Opcode 177 is to give bonus save and caster level against a specific enemy as I stated before, but in a second though I'm feeling like that will not be possible. Any ideas?
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • GrammarsaladGrammarsalad Member Posts: 2,582
    edited July 2017
    Raduziel said:

    Ok, Opcode 177 is kind of making me sad.

    I created an effect (.eff) to use with it, but everytime I select the Opcode 177 and go to "load external effect" instead of it being listed in the field Resource the external effect replaces the Opcode 177.

    Also, my idea of using the Opcode 177 is to give bonus save and caster level against a specific enemy as I stated before, but in a second though I'm feeling like that will not be possible. Any ideas?

    You're using DLTCEP, yes?

    I think that what you are doing is replacing the 177 with the effect that you want the 177 to apply. It's an easy mistake to make with DLTCEP.

    You need to be sure to create your eff separate from the spl/eff that applies it. To avoid error, it might be best to follow this procedure:

    Step 1: Create your spl (spell 1) with the 177 eff (Effect 1). Be sure to reference the second, desired effect (Effect 2) in the resource key.

    Step 2: Save the original spell (i.e. spell 1). Exit the spell.

    Step 3: Go to Edit-->Effect. Load your second effect (Effect 2). Edit, save.

  • RaduzielRaduziel Member Posts: 4,714
    @Grammarsalad

    I've created the .eff separately from the spl.

    Loaded the spl, opened Opcode 177, Load external effect, selected the eff and... it replaces the opcode entirely.
  • GrammarsaladGrammarsalad Member Posts: 2,582
    Raduziel said:

    @Grammarsalad

    I've created the .eff separately from the spl.

    Loaded the spl, opened Opcode 177, Load external effect, selected the eff and... it replaces the opcode entirely.

    You shouldn't do that. :)

    That is the problem. You are replacing your 177 effect with the effect you are trying to create.
  • GrammarsaladGrammarsalad Member Posts: 2,582
    edited July 2017
    You need to COPY your second eff into the override as a separate file. The spell will then apply the eff to the desired target. In total, you will have two files: the spl with the 177 effect, and the eff file which is the effect you want to apply
  • RaduzielRaduziel Member Posts: 4,714
    edited July 2017
    @Grammarsalad



    Here's the spell. The spell name and the opcode are highlighted



    Here's inside opcode 177. I click the load external effect because the "Browse" button only gives me effects from the game.



    Here are all the effects I pre-made



    Here is inside the effect...



    And here is the god damned thing replaced














  • GrammarsaladGrammarsalad Member Posts: 2,582
    edited July 2017
    Raduziel said:

    @Grammarsalad



    Here's the spell. The spell name and the opcode are highlighted



    Here's inside opcode 177. I click the load external effect because the "Browse" button only gives me effects from the game.




    That is not the 'inside' if the 177. That's your spl. This is the 177 effect:




    Are you clickin on the circled button? If so, you shouldn't. Whatever you load will replace your 177 effect
  • RaduzielRaduziel Member Posts: 4,714
    edited July 2017
    @Grammarsalad

    Yes, I'm clicking exactly there. How can I put the eff file in the resource field if the Browse option won't let me look for a personally made eff?

    I'm derping here, pretend I'm a toddler eating sand and trying to understand what a condom is, please.

    In time: I swear I'm looking for a DLTCP tutorial for spells, but I can't find one. All people say is "see similar spells" and thousand of thousand of tutorial of how do make an Area using this tool.
  • GrammarsaladGrammarsalad Member Posts: 2,582
    edited July 2017
    Raduziel said:

    @Grammarsalad

    Yes, I'm clicking exactly there. How can I put the eff file in the resource field if the Browse option won't let me look for a personally made eff?

    I'm derping here, pretend I'm a toddler eating sand and trying to understand what a condom is, please.

    Aaah, I see the problem. (LOL!) See here:

    You need to put the File Name of the eff where the arrow is (minus the ".eff"). (suddenly, I have to 'attach' the image, but just open it up)

    You then need to be sure to create and COPY over the eff file in the override.

    In total, you will have two files: the spl with the 177 effect, and the eff file which is the effect you want to apply

    (btw, it's hard to convey 'tone' in writing. I recognize this stuff is confusing at first. No hard feelings here!)
  • RaduzielRaduziel Member Posts: 4,714
    edited July 2017
    @Grammarsalad

    That's it? Just input the name?

    God, I feel stupid AF.

    If Beamdog ever decides to make me rich paying me millions for my mods I'll give you a 30% cut.

    Thanks :|

    Grammarsalad
  • GrammarsaladGrammarsalad Member Posts: 2,582
    edited July 2017
    Raduziel said:

    @Grammarsalad

    That's it? Just input the name?

    God, I feel stupid AF.

    Thanks :|

    Don't feel stupid! Easy mistake to make. This is a learning process (for all of us!)

    And this is what I was loling:

    I'm derping here, pretend I'm a toddler eating sand and trying to understand what a condom is, please.


    That is funny!
  • RaduzielRaduziel Member Posts: 4,714
    @Grammarsalad

    I use this line for some years. There are four variants:

    1) pretend I'm a toddler

    2) (1) eating sand

    3) (1) (2) and trying to understand what a condom is

    4) (1) (2) (3) while seen my own mom naked.

    The fourth stage is a desperate one, actually I used it only one time while I was trying to understand one thing for my Masters degree (I swear I am smart, despite what I show here :| )
    Grammarsalad
  • GrammarsaladGrammarsalad Member Posts: 2,582
    Raduziel said:

    @Grammarsalad

    I use this line for some years. There are four variants:

    1) pretend I'm a toddler

    2) (1) eating sand

    3) (1) (2) and trying to understand what a condom is

    4) (1) (2) (3) while seen my own mom naked.

    The fourth stage is a desperate one, actually I used it only one time while I was trying to understand one thing for my Masters degree (I swear I am smart, despite what I show here :| )


    As my grandmother used to say (she had a PhD in psychology and a masters in theology) used to say: before you can be good at something, you have to be bad at it (not original, I'm sure)
    Raduziel
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 0
    edited July 2017
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • RaduzielRaduziel Member Posts: 4,714
    @subtledoctor You're lucky I'm no longer in Brazil's Antiterrorism Taskforce. I'll make some calls.
  • RaduzielRaduziel Member Posts: 4,714
    edited July 2017
    @Grammarsalad @subtledoctor

    Apparently, my kit became incompatible with the Specialists component of T&B

    At character creation no Necromancy spell is available (because T&B doesn't read it as a necromancer) and it is impossible to advance without picking a Necromancy spell (because the game understands that it is a necromancer).

    Any ideas?
  • RaduzielRaduziel Member Posts: 4,714
    edited July 2017
    Another thing:

    Apparently, this kit won't install in IWDEE. I think that the god damned 1.4 doesn't allow wizard kits.

    Can anyone confirm this suspect?


  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 0
    edited July 2017
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
    Post edited by [Deleted User] on
  • RaduzielRaduziel Member Posts: 4,714
    edited July 2017
    @subtledoctor Way beyond what I can do for now...

    Guys, another question

    The string 24540 (BGEE) says: Spellcaster level increased by (LEVELDIF)

    I have an ability that increases the caster level by 3 and I'm using Opcode 139 to show this string.

    The problem is, the string comes "empty". Is says: Spellcaster level increased by ... and don't state the value.

    I made several tests and I know for sure that the spellcaster level is increased by 3.

    Anyone knows how to make the string says the correct value (like it does for Wild Mages)?

    Same thing for string 24541 (BGEE - Spellcaster level decreased by (LEVELDIF)). This one is put with a Delay to show up at the end of the spell.

    Thanks!
  • kjeronkjeron Member Posts: 2,367
    Raduziel said:


    The string 24540 (BGEE) says: Spellcaster level increased by (LEVELDIF)

    Same thing for string 24541 (BGEE - Spellcaster level decreased by (LEVELDIF)). This one is put with a Delay to show up at the end of the spell.

    Those token's are only intended for the Wildmages level adjustments.
    You will have to add your own strings for each desired value.
  • RaduzielRaduziel Member Posts: 4,714
    kjeron said:

    Raduziel said:


    The string 24540 (BGEE) says: Spellcaster level increased by (LEVELDIF)

    Same thing for string 24541 (BGEE - Spellcaster level decreased by (LEVELDIF)). This one is put with a Delay to show up at the end of the spell.

    Those token's are only intended for the Wildmages level adjustments.
    You will have to add your own strings for each desired value.
    Thanks for the reply.

    How can I do it?
  • RaduzielRaduziel Member Posts: 4,714
    Here's my plan for now:

    1) Use Weidu to add the strings I want to use (stated below).

    2) Use Opcode 139 with dummy values (-1 and -2) for the messages Spellcaster level increased by 3 / Spellcaster level decreased by 3 respectively (thanks @subtledoctor for this amazing tip).

    3) Use Weidu to look at Dialog.tlk searching for the string text and replaces the dummy number for the string number.

    The problem is, IDK how to do steps 1 and 3. And I believe that doing this way will not conflict with any installation, but I'm not sure.
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
    RaduzielGrammarsalad
  • RaduzielRaduziel Member Posts: 4,714
    edited July 2017
    Forget it, you guys already gave a perfect solution in the HOW TO DO STUFF IN WEIDU topic.

    Thanks!
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
    RaduzielGrammarsalad
Sign In or Register to comment.