Skip to content

How is romance dialogue triggered?

Hi everyone, first time posting here after using the forums a lot through the power of google :)

I've played a lot of BG1EE, but this is my first time playing BG2. Is romance triggered randomly or is it combination of in-game time plus some random factor? I didn't really pay much attention to Neera's romance in BG1EE, but Aerie is completely tactless when chirping on her backstory right at the end of unrelated quests:

Case 1:

Oh we finally killed the last remaining despicable slaver? Let me tell you about my glorious winged elf race:

Case 2:

Thank god we're done with curing that bitch our fellow companion Jaheira's curse, let me tell you how much I miss my dear Uncle Quayle:

These have given me a good chuckle, but this was the icing on the cake:

immensely jealous of the attention I gave to Jaheira, Aerie "awakens" with cries that she's also having a nightmare:

Comments

• sarevok57sarevok57 Member Posts: 5,975
    there are 2 factors that I know of that triggers the romances

#1 - from what I know romances are on a timer, usually about 30 real life minutes ( although jaheira's might be an hour? ) anyway, you can use some handy dandy console cheats to "speed up" in game time if you want to hurry romances up if need be

#2 - going into certain areas will also trigger romance dialogues, like entering aladon's lair, finishing the avatar quest in the eye seeing eye dungeon and things like that

#3 - the odd time when you go to rest ( depending on what romance talk you are on ) will also trigger a romance dialogue as well, and sometimes this will be mandatory for the romance to continue

but I would say about 70% of the time you romances are going to continue from real game time, and the funny thing is, even if you pause the game for an hour and un pause it, it will trigger a romance dialogue