Skip to content

Need tips for area testing

fot1fot1 Member Posts: 74
I have never worked with the aurora toolset before, only did some scripts. But this time I'm working in a full module. Currently on 20 areas or so, but I need to revisit them for lightning and sound. Anyway, I need to test some different areas, with different characters from different classes and different levels. I wonder if more experienced toolseters can share how they approach area testing?

One thing that I find bad is that hitting the test module button always load the first saved character. If I could pick the character to use would be easier. I couldn't find in the toolset, but did not suggested as an enhancement because I believe there should be a way I haven't managed to find.

How do you create your test characters? You download a test character module, level up, save the character and then load on your module? Or there is a way to generate a "standard level 5 fighter" and "level 40 weapon master", for instance?

So yeah, right now I started the server and loaded the module locally, then I have a shortcut on my desktop that connects to the module. I create the characters I need then use them. But then they start to level up and I lose control on them. And then is better to just recreate and level up a new character.

Do you have any resources, like scripts or wands that make this easier for you and mind to share?

Thank you!

Comments

• ProlericProleric Member Posts: 1,281
    edited January 2018
    If you look at my Enigma Island or Dark Energy modules, you'll find a script called bh_party which levels up, adding associates & equipment. The module chat event is scripted to fire it from chat. So the unit test procedure is F9 the first bic, chat p, play through area with instant party.