Skip to content

Am I facing a lag? [BGEE:SoD]

Rik_KirtaniyaRik_Kirtaniya Member Posts: 1,742
edited January 2018 in Troubleshooting
So I just started playing SoD, and the first thing I came to notice is that the walking speed of the characters seems to be a lot slower than in the main story. I started a BG game to re-check, and yes, my character is moving a lot faster there.

Is this normal? I know SoD has better graphics, and my prehistoric computer ( with just an Intel Dual Core 2.00 GHz and 2 GB RAM) might be struggling to handle it, but I didn't notice any other problems so far.

Can someone please verify? I'm a bit tensed about this.
Post edited by Rik_Kirtaniya on

Comments

•  TheArtisan TheArtisan Member Posts: 3,277
    edited January 2018
    Have you tried disabling fog? Try adding this entry to your baldur.lua file:

SetPrivateProfileString('Game Options','Enable Fog','0')
  • Rik_KirtaniyaRik_Kirtaniya Member Posts: 1,742
    @Artemius_I, Thanks for your advice. I tried disabling fog, but unfortunately that isn't changing things much. I think that isn't the problem here.

However, I noticed a most astonishing thing. Since I tested it for about 20 minutes or so, I don't think it's an illusion of my mind. The fact is that at first I was using a custom portrait for my main character, and when I changed it to a pre-included portrait, it appears that things do indeed speed up, if only a little (which is pretty significant for me). I then tried playing once with a custom portrait and then a generic portrait in the main game, and noticed that there too, the speed is decreased a bit if I play with a custom portrait. I faced this same problem with custom portraits earlier in IWD:EE.

I wonder if it is due to the fact that I've used only one high resolution image file for the custom portraits, instead of 3 separate L, M and S files (of decreasing resolutions respectively). I'm confused. :/