Skip to content

Personal Content Development Journal

SymphonySymphony Member, Developer Posts: 142
Hello, I'm Symphony.

Given the rising amount of curiosity about what I do (or don't do), and where I come from in the custom content community, I've been urged to somewhat "tell my story", or offer explanation about some of the ways that the game works, or the things that I have discovered.

I am not a custom content veteran, and I started making things just a few months before the Enhanced Edition appeared on the scene. I am hoping that the blogs I will be making will satisfy a couple of interests.
  1. I am new to developing custom content. If you have or do not have experience with the game, and have or do not have experience with making your own custom content, you should not feel deterred. I'm telling you that you can read and you can make stuff, and with practice you will get better.
  2. I am hoping to simultaneously spill some details on the facets of the mechanics of the game that may be related to what you might be working on, or have had troubles with, even if those things are not related to the work I discuss in the writings, WHILE I am also delivering a somewhat abbreviated (and potentially entertaining) retelling of my work process throughout a particular process or subject.
  3. The blog is not posted on a personal website I've made for blogging, but rather the wiki section of the well known Neverwinter Vault. The wiki is not well known or used, and I am hoping to transfer from story-telling to hard-facts and how-to's as time goes on, providing the NWN community with a comprehensive collection of uniformly presented knowledge with consistent style and predictable formats.
At this point in time, I have not contributed any projects to the Vault, the only people who have used my "finished" work have been testers, and the rooftop module available in the steam workshop is the closest thing I've ever had to published work (it's just a demo).