Skip to content

Dynamic DNS for servers?

As with many residential services, public IP addresses change periodically.

Will NWN servers support Dynamic DNS for users to join a server hosted at a residence? Considering spinning up a server but haven't worked with one privately (am a Service Engineer at a NOC professionally).

Comments

• EdhelEdhel Member Posts: 6
    The older NWN supports this. So I can't see them removing this feature.
  • JimbobslimbobJimbobslimbob Member Posts: 206
    edited December 2017
    You can use something like NoIP. It's a decent service that will function across the board for all games you host.

Linky: https://www.noip.com/
  • ZuzubofZuzubof Member Posts: 9
    I would like to follow-up on this as I'm a bit of a noob at this sort of thing. I hope you'll bear with me.

In the early days of the old NWN, I created a world, put it on a computer in my den, and arranged with my provider (Comcast? Verizon?) for that computer to have a set IP address for my few players to use to log in and play. Then the provider changed to dynamically changing and that destroyed everything. I never got around to buying a host, etc., and loading my game there as it just wasn't....right.

So with this new version, and what I think I'm understanding from the thread, I can get the new version, put it on a stand-alone computer to run it, and then use NOIP to somehow work the same as I did with the original "non-changing" IP? My players connect to the NOIP IP and it forwards them to my computer (which is somehow now connected to NOIP)?
    edited March 2018
    Zuzubof said:

I would like to follow-up on this as I'm a bit of a noob at this sort of thing. I hope you'll bear with me.