Skip to content

Technical Toolset Feature requests

NexussfireNexussfire Member Posts: 3
edited November 2017 in Builders - Toolset
Hey guys, I'm an environment artist and I got my start into the field using NWN's toolset way back in the day. 100's of hours tinkering and creating with the toolset.

SO some things that would be useful for Neverwinter Nights Toolset ( Off the top of my head)

Biggest Thing: Support for a lot more placed light sources! Possibly by deferred rendering? And/Or creating placeable objects that act as point lights / spot lights.

1.) Ability to scale placable objects not limited to just overall scale but along X Y or Z axis

2.) Creating Prefab's / blueprints like in NWN2's Toolset (Aranging placeables and then saving that group as a prefab or blueprint)

3.) Creating 2DA files from inside the Toolset via a new utility / wizard.

4.) Importing new model formats, such as FBX or OBJ. - Nevermind you have tools for that being made available

5.) Guide on Texture implementation and shader creation

6.) Clearer support / implementation for new animations

7.) Particle effects - a tutorial on creating them to work for NWN with newer software (3DS Max)

8.) Ability to Kit-bash tile-sets together. If I want to throw down some forest in the middle of a city on a 2x2 pair of tiles, without having to use placeables to do it. (Maybe adding this feature by selecting a set of tiles via-right click "Properties" and "change tileset to... > drop down menu of options".. )

9.) Improve Pathing / collision for tilesets to potentially support two-story tilesets and aquatic based tilesets

10.) Cutscene manager / Creator based off the archaic cutscene creation methods.

11.) Cull-Distance modifier/options on place-able objects to allow optimization on big levels.

I know 64bit toolset is being considered, for modules that rely on the CEP content and larger content, 64bit would make loading these large hak files and big modules more memory efficient.