Skip to content

Modding Non-joinable NPC Dialogue (Mini-Guide)

mashedtatersmashedtaters Member Posts: 2,266
edited May 2018 in General Modding
Hey, everyone, I'm brand new to modding, and I put this together as more of a place-holding reminder for myself rather than as a guide for any of you amazing modders that are a part of this community. However, if any newbies decide that this is useful information, then feel free to use it.

One of the things I always wanted to do was add more conversation to certain likeable characters in Icewind Dale. I've been wracking my brains trying to figure it all out and I finally got a minor understanding of a working method. NOTE! I'm not much of a modder (yet), so just because it all works doesn't mean that it's right (yet). I'd appreciate all you experienced modders to give me some direction and corrections as you see fit, or other general advice.

This is not a comprehensive guide. But, the first thing to do is download WeiDU. Make a copy of WeiDU itself and rename it SETUP-??????. (I'm going to use my prefix here, which is J3, and rename it SETUP-J3TEST).

Next, create a folder and name it the same name as those following SETUP-. In my case, it will be named J3TEST.

In that folder create a group of subfolders that will contain scripts, dialogues, bafs, etc. See this post here http://www.shsforums.net/topic/27927-organize-before-you-write/ for organizational tips, and look at other mods as to how they are organized.

But, I'm lazy today and will only create the BACKUP folder.

In my J3TEST folder, I will create a text document saved as All Files as SETUP_J3TEST.tp2. This is a list of instructions that will tell WeiDU what to create.

I will create another text document saved as All Files as J3TEST.d. This will contain the meat of the conversation edits for our non-joinable NPC.

First, I'm going to edit the tp2 file for WeiDU's instructions. For this, I will be keeping it to the bare minimum.