Skip to content

Icewind Dale 2.5 crash on load game screen

Game crashes immediately when going to the load game screen. Quicksave can still be loaded by starting a new game and pressing the quickload hotkey, but clicking "Load Game" or "Resume Game" from the main menu causes an instant crash. Clicking "Load Game" from the pause menu while in-game also causes an immediate crash.

I was unable to find a crash log in the game directory or in /var/crash/.

Ubuntu 17.10
i7 4790k
Fury X with open source (mesa pkppa) drivers
16 GB RAM
Game is installed on an SSD

Aside from this unofficial bug report, I would really like a way to downgrade to the previous patch on Steam. I've been playing Icewind Dale on and off for about 3 1/2 years without any problems until this patch. Now it's unplayable due to constant crashes. I think this patch needed some more testing before being pushed to everyone. It seems a lot of people are having these issues, especially Linux users.

Comments

• JuliusBorisovJuliusBorisov Member, Administrator, Moderator, Developer Posts: 22,724
    There have been a couple of reports where this was resolved by uninstalling, and then re-installing the game.
  • meowmeowfuzzyfacemeowmeowfuzzyface Member Posts: 11

There have been a couple of reports where this was resolved by uninstalling, and then re-installing the game.

Hi Julius,

I'm going to copy paste my response from the Steam forums here:

Uninstalling/reinstalling fixes the new/load game crash where the game crashes upon starting a new game or loading a save.

However, it doesn't work for this problem where the game crashes simply by selecting the "Load Game" option from the main menu. As in, it crashes instead of showing you the list of saved games. I am able to start a new game just fine, but I can't navigate to the load game menu option without a crash to desktop.
  • JuliusBorisovJuliusBorisov Member, Administrator, Moderator, Developer Posts: 22,724
    edited May 2018