Skip to content

Ettercaps

I have been ambushed several times by 5-6 Ettercaps and wiped out in every attack. I am a necromancer level 5. My team includes lvl 5 Khalid, lvl 4 Jaheira, lvl 6 Imoen, lvl 4 Xan and lvl 5 Statue/Brandwen. Nothing seems to work against the ettercaps. I have tried a variety of magic without results. I can't win hand to hand battles. I tried running away and was snared with some sort of webs and then killed. I am new to the game and having a blast but I just can't beat these ettercaps.

So what are the weaknesses of ettercaps? What are the best tactics to use against them? How to I survive the next ambush when I am surrounded by 5-6 ettercaps?

Comments

• StummvonBordwehrStummvonBordwehr Member, Mobile Tester Posts: 1,343
    They are a pest - but mostly when they swarm you.

To avoid that you need

1) someone to soak up the punches: a tank.
    In your setup that could be Khalid or Jaheira.

2) Dress your designated tank in your best gear:
    Full plate
    Ring of protection +1
    Belt of blunt protection
    Shield +1
    (Guessing youre in Cloakwood by now)

3) have the rest of the team use ranged weapons (4 * slings and a shortbow for Imoen)

4) make the tank scout ahead, while the rest trail behind

5) proceed with caution

6) get to know where the web traps are - or use free action on your tank.

7) avoid getting your party webbed (step 4 is important here) - the extra range of the solings also helps.

8) have your tank attack them one at a time, trying to lure them out one by one

This is pretty much it. Most of bg1 can be handled that way... but its still onde h.... of a game. I have enjoyed it for 16 years, and thanks to beamdog now on iphone.

Best of luck
    Gusinda
  • sarevok57sarevok57 Member Posts: 5,975

They are a pest - but mostly when they swarm you.

To avoid that you need

1) someone to soak up the punches: a tank.
    In your setup that could be Khalid or Jaheira.

2) Dress your designated tank in your best gear: