Skip to content

Blackguard help

I'm a returned BGI-BGII veteran. The first one i finished a handful of times over the years.
With the enhanced edition out i'd thought i'd return to the fold.
Remarkably i never managed to play an evil side character despite my love for 'Dark Knights'.
Mostly I suspect because I rather liked many a good-aligned BG character and found little advantage out of being 'evil'. The plot kinda pushes me usually towards being 'nice'. That and next to Blackguards and mercenary warriros I tend to play Paladins in pencile and paper rpgs... (talk about polar opposites within the same theme)

With the Blackguard out i'm stopping my campaign which has been developping as every campaign before it. (me Paladin, usual team etc) - I made a BG and i'm going to go the ruthless mercenary route.

Now my question:

My char has stats 18 str, 18 dec, 18 con and 18 char. But 9 wis and 9 int. Is this bad? I tended to max stats I associate with the BG like char. But i'm not sure it works here like that. With my paladin i know i have a lot of trouble having good scores alround but with a BG this does not seem as important.
I gave him a zweihander because it does seem to suit the archetype.
Did I do right in how i tackled the stats or was it a mistake?
And if so can I still salvage it by putting attributes in another stat?

Comments

• MadhaxMadhax Member Posts: 1,416
    You should be fine. Wisdom has no effect on paladins/rangers spellcasting abilities, so a 9 in that score won't hurt you. A 9 int is enough to read spell scrolls, so you're okay there, too.

If you're looking for a strictly powergaming stat spread, though... well, I'll put in a minor spoiler field since this is the New Players subforum: