How much iPad do I really need?

LemernisLemernis Member, Moderator Posts: 4,318
edited March 2013 in Off-Topic
Here are the needs I expect to have for an iPad (the large size, not the mini):

- playing BG, naturally
- maybe other games if I ever get the bug for something else
- watching a movie now and then
- websurfing, email, etc.
- mainly for home use, eg, sitting on sofa while watching TV (no need for keyboard; would connect to home network router)
- do not intend to store much data on it (eg, would stream movies)

How much computer do I actually need? I'm not looking to spend a fortune on this thing. Think iPad 2 Wi-Fi 16GB will be just fine for my needs? Would I regret not getting Retina display?

Comments

• VnavekulVnavekul Member Posts: 181
    I'd go for a 3 then. Retina is really nice. I don't have one myself however. As a student I can easily make do with my computer and telephone. :)
  • LemernisLemernis Member, Moderator Posts: 4,318
    I'm about to pull the trigger on the iPad 4 16G wi-fi w/ retina display. At the Apple store now.
  • atcDaveatcDave Member Posts: 2,154
    Any iPad can do all of that, except BG requires a 2 or newer. I have a 3, the retina display is awesome and I would recommend it highly. Obviously you can save some money by getting a reconditioned unit from Apple, and as I understand it, even 4s are now available that way.
    Bought it! Looks pretty sweet. Gotta play me some BG:EE when I get home. :)
  • DjimmyDjimmy Member Posts: 749
    Things starting with i are evil. Evil I tell you. You don't need any of those... well... too late...
  • VnavekulVnavekul Member Posts: 181
    How so? I think their tablets are priced fairly fair and the ecosystem is unbeatable. :) Their desktops and notebooks are a complete waste of money in my opinion. Too much money for too little hardware.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 3,675
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
    edited March 2013