Skip to content

low numbers better?

i have just started and i have a character that has a -1 to dex and a AC of 10 so this means in at an AC of 9 correct which is better because im harder to hit correct? sorry im new to this and i've been hardwired with DnD 3.5 and pathfinder rules so its a bit hard to understand also is there a log in this game that shows how combat plays out?

Comments

• CaptRoryCaptRory Member Posts: 1,660
    Yes, generally lower nummbers are better.

Every character has a THAC0: To Hit Armor Class 0. Its the roll you need to hit someone whose armor class is 0. The lower your THAC0 the easier it is to hit someone in combat because it means you don't need good rolls on the dice. Your armor class works the same way. If your AC is -2 people trying to hit you need to roll two under thir THAC0 to hit you.

If your THAC0 is 10. And your target has an AC of -2. You need to roll a 12 or better to hit them. If one's AC is so low they can't be hit (like if you wear the boots of avoidance, cloak of displacement, and girdle of piercing and get like a -13 ac towards ranged attacks) you'll only be hit on a natural 20.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 3,675
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • OrieOrie Member Posts: 15
    thanks yes i have a fighter with a 7 AC with modifiers added

• francofranco Member Posts: 507
    Yes. Lower numbers are better. A simple way to look at Armor is right on your Inventory page. You will have a certain AC when your character's armor isn't equipped. When you equip your armor to have more protection, notice that the AC goes down.

A normal man with no armor is assumed to have AC 10. If he has good Dexteriry, his armor class would be a little lower. With decent armor, his AC tends to drop much further. He becomes much harder to hit.